New York Governor signs Emergency Paid Quarantine Leave for COVID-19 into Law

Posted on: March 19, 2020 0

by Marti Cardi, Esq – Vice President Product Compliance

March 19, 2020

 

On March 18, 2020, Governor Cuomo signed emergency legislation guaranteeing job protection and pay for employees affected by COVID-19 who are subject to mandatory or precautionary orders of quarantine or isolation. Oh, by the way it’s effective NOW!

Here are the specifics: 

  • Employers are required to provide sick leave for absences due to
    a COVID-19-related mandatory or precautionary order of quarantine
    or isolation issued by the state of New York, the department of
    health, local board of health, or any governmental entity duly
    authorized to issue such order due to COVID-19. An order from a
    medical provider to stay home or in quarantine will not suffice.
    The amount and duration of sick leave varies according to the
    employer’s size and net income:

    • Employers with 10 or fewer employees: unpaid leave for the duration
      of the quarantine.
    • Employers with 10 or fewer employees and net income greater than
      $1 million: 5 days of paid leave, plus unpaid leave for the duration of the quarantine.
    • Employers with 11-99 employees: 5 days of paid leave, plus unpaid leave for the duration of the
      quarantine.
    • Employers with 100 or more employees: 14 days of paid leave (no reference to unpaid leave for
      the duration of a quarantine).
  • Within the first three categories of employers (those with 1-99 employees), the employee can apply for New York
    disability and paid family leave (PFL) benefits after using the mandated paid leave. The waiting period is waived.
  • This paid sick leave must be provided without loss of an employee’s other accrued sick leave.
  • The definition of “disability” for purposes of disability benefits is expanded to include the inability of the
    employee to perform the duties of his/her position or other offered position due to an order of quarantine
    relating to COVID-19, after exhaustion of the paid sick leave (PSL) offered by the employer (presumably
    including company-offered PSL and the newly mandated PSL).
  • Paid family leave is expanded to include leave taken by an employee subject to an order of quarantine relating
    to COVID-19 applicable to the employee or to the employee’s minor dependent child. 
  • Benefits available under the disability law and paid family leave run concurrently, with the PFL benefits
    being primary.
  • The amount of benefits available for COVID-19-related disability is a maximum of $2,043.92 per week, and
    for COVID-19-related PFL is a maximum of $840.70 per week. After application of PFL benefits, the amount
    of disability benefits is capped so that the employee does not receive in total more than the employee’s
    average weekly wage.
  • If the federal government provides sick leave and/or employee benefits for employees related to COVID-19,
    then the federal benefits apply first and the state benefits described above serve as a top-off up to the
    limits provide by the New York bill.
  • The employee must be restored to his/her position held prior to the quarantine (so, same position, not
    an equivalent position
    ).
  • State Website Resources. The state’s new COVID-19 website is quite robust, with lots of information and forms:

 

Miss a day, and you miss a lot!

If you are a Matrix or Reliance Standard client with questions about the new NY Paid Sick Leave, bring it! Your account manager can help. Meanwhile, even if you’re a regular person, we are here for you, absorbing each of these regulatory changes and helping you make sense of them. See you soon with a wrap-up of the new federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act. (FFCRA, because we love our acronyms!) 

Coronavirus UPDATES Du Jour: Senate Passes and President Signs FMLA Expansion and Paid Sick Leave; State Paid Leave Laws – When & How Do They Apply?

Posted on: March 19, 2020 0

by Marti Cardi, Esq – Vice President Product Compliance

March 19, 2020

 

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act

In the past two days we have reported on the progress of House of Representatives Bill 6201 proposing expansions of the Family and Medical Leave Act and new paid sick leave requirements here and the House amendments here (or if you widely bookmarked Matrix-Radar, just scroll down!).  On March 18 that bill passed the U.S. Senate and was signed into law by President Trump.  The final version was unchanged from H.R. 6201, so our summary in those two blog posts is still accurate – read them both, and we will follow up soon with more details. In the meantime, remember it goes into effect April 2, 2020; and still impacts only employers with fewer than 500 employees.

Moving on:

State Paid Family and Medical/Disability Laws

Now let’s take a look at how existing or recently-modified state leave laws (paid and unpaid) relate to COVID-19 situations.  NOTE!  This is a very fluid and fast changing situation.  This information is accurate as of press time. We will update this post as needed for new developments.

This overview relates primarily to state paid family and medical or disability benefits and leave laws.  Many states also have paid sick and safe leave laws, and a good number of those cover employee absences due to the closure of schools and day care facilities. In addition, some situations where an employee is ordered by the employer to stay home, or experiences reduced hours or a business closure, may be covered by state unemployment insurance. These are mentioned below only if the state COVID-19 information website specifically addresses the issue. 

A Better Balance is a great resource for state and municipal/county paid sick leave laws.  Check out their website for a comprehensive chart.

California.  The Golden State has taken several steps to provide or clarify state benefits coverage to situations relating to COVID-19:

  • Disability and employee quarantine: An employee may qualify for disability insurance due to their own
    illness and/or quarantine. “Disability” is defined by California statute to include inability to work due to
    a nonwork illness or injury and also “because of a written order from a state or local health officer to an
    individual infected with, or suspected of being infected with, a communicable disease.”
    CA Unemp Ins Code § 2626 (2017).

The Employment Development Department is waiving the one-week elimination period for DI claims for individuals who are unemployed and disabled as a result of COVID-19.  See Governor’s Executive Order. So far this does not appear to apply to voluntary plans. EDD still requires a medical certification signed by a treating physician or a practitioner that includes a diagnosis and ICD-10 code, or if no diagnosis has been obtained, a statement of symptoms; the start date of the condition; its probable duration; and the treating physician’s or practitioner’s license number or facility information. This requirement can also be met by a written order from a state or local health officer that is specific to the employee.

  • Paid Family Leave: Employees missing work to care for an ill or quarantined family member with COVID-19
    may qualify for paid family leave (presently up to 6 weeks, increasing to 8 weeks on July 1, 2020).
    “Family member” is defined as a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling,
    spouse, or registered domestic partner. EDD still requires a medical certification for the family member
    from a treating physician or a practitioner that includes a diagnosis and ICD-10 code, or if no diagnosis
    has been obtained, a statement with the same information listed above for disabilities. This requirement
    can also be met by a written order from a state or local health officer that is specific to the family member’s
    situation.
  • School Closures: If an employee has to miss work because their child’s school is closed, they may be eligible
    for Unemployment Insurance benefits. Eligibility considerations include if the employee has no other
    care options and if they are unable to continue working normal hours remotely.
  • Work closures or reduced hours: Again, unemployment benefits may be available to employees if the
    employer closes its business or reduces work hours. In these cases the employee is not required to actively
    look for other employment but must be ready and available to work throughout the period of
    unemployment or reduced schedule.

California EDD COVID-19 website:  https://edd.ca.gov/about_edd/coronavirus-2019.htm

New Jersey:

  • Disability and employee quarantine: The state’s Temporary Disability Insurance will cover an individual who
    has tested positive for COVID-19 or has symptoms and is unable to work.  The employee must first exhaust
    their leave available under New Jersey’s Earned Sick Leave law, which provides up to 40 hours of paid sick time.
    The employee must still provide the usual medical support from a health care provider, including diagnosis
    and duration the employee is expected to be off work. New Jersey TDI does not cover employee quarantine
    situations.
  • Paid Family Leave: New Jersey Family Leave Insurance (FLI) will apply to employee time off needed to care
    for a family member with a serious health condition. There are no provisions relating to caring for a family
    member due to a COVID-19-related quarantine.
  • School closures: Employee absences due to school or day care closures are not covered under New Jersey FLI.
    New Jersey’s Earned Sick Leave law provides paid sick time (up to 40 hours) that employees can use when their
    children’s school or child care facility is closed due to an epidemic or public health emergency.
  • Work closures or reduced hours: Unemployment benefits may be available to employees if the employer
    closes its business or reduces work hours.

New Jersey COVID-19 website:  https://www.nj.gov/labor/worker-protections/earnedsick/covid.shtml

New York

NOTE:  On March 18, 2020, Governor Cuomo signed emergency legislation guaranteeing job protection and pay for New Yorkers who have been quarantined as a result of novel coronavirus, or COVID-19. Here are the specifics: 

  • Employers are required to provide sick leave for absences due to a COVID-19-related quarantine ordered
    by the state or an authorized state or local department or board of health, according to the employer’s
    size and net income:

    • Employers with 10 or fewer employees: unpaid leave for the duration of the quarantine.
    • Employers with 10 or fewer employees and net income greater than $1 million: 5 days of paid leave,
      plus unpaid leave for the duration of the quarantine.
    • Employers with 11-99 employees: 5 days of paid leave, plus unpaid leave for the duration of the
      quarantine.
    • Employers with 100 or more employees: 14 days of paid leave (no reference to unpaid leave for
      the duration of a quarantine).
  • The employee can apply for New York disability and paid family leave (PFL) benefits after using the mandated
    paid leave. The waiting period is waived for employees of employers with 10 or fewer employees and $1 million
    or less in net income.
  • This paid sick leave must be provided without loss of an employee’s other accrued sick leave.
  • The definition of “disability” for purposes of disability benefits is expanded to include the inability of the
    employee to perform the duties of his/her position or other offered position due to an order of quarantine
    relating to COVID-19, after exhaustion of the paid sick leave (PSL) offered by the employer (presumably
    including company-offered PSL and the newly mandated PSL).
  • Paid family leave is expanded to include leave taken by an employee subject to an order of quarantine relating
    to COVID-19 applicable to the employee or to the employee’s minor dependent child.
  • Benefits available under the disability law and paid family leave run concurrently, with the PFL benefits
    being primary.
  • The amount of benefits available for COVID-19-related disability is a maximum of $2,043.92 per week, and
    for COVID-19-related PFL is a maximum of $840.70 per week. After application of PFL benefits, the amount
    of disability benefits is capped so that the employee does not receive in total more than the employee’s
    average weekly wage.
  • If the federal government provides sick leave and/or employee benefits for employees related to COVID-19,
    then the federal benefits apply first and the state benefits described above serve as a top-off up to the
    limits provide by the New York bill.
  • The employee must be restored to his/her position held prior to the quarantine (so, same position, not
    an equivalent position
    ).

Rhode Island:

  • Disability and employee quarantine: Employee COVID-19-related illnesses may be covered by Rhode Island
    Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI).  The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training (DLT) will waive
    the 7-day minimum claim duration so employees can get coverage from their first day of COVID-19 illness.

By its terms TDI does not to apply to an employee under quarantine but not actually diagnosed with COVID-19 or exhibiting symptoms. However, the Rhode Island COVID-19 Workplace Fact Sheet provides this statement:  “For individuals under quarantine, DLT will waive the required medical certification, and instead will allow them to temporary qualify via self-attestation that they were under quarantine due to COVID-19.”  This appears intended only to waive the medical certification requirement if someone is quarantined, not to create new TDI coverage.

  • Paid Family Leave: Rhode Island Temporary Caregivers Insurance (TCI) provides 4 weeks of time off to care
    for a seriously ill family member (child, parent, spouse, domestic partner, parent-in-law, or grandparent).
    There is no TCI coverage because a family member is in quarantine.
  • School closures: Employee absences due to school or day care closures are not covered under Rhode Island TCI.
  • Work closures or reduced hours: If a workplace closes or an employee is directed by the employer to remain
    home, the employee may be eligible for unemployment insurance.

Rhode Island COVID-19 Workplace Fact Sheet:  www.dlt.ri.gov/pdfs/COVID-19 Workplace Fact Sheet.pdf

Washington:

  • Disability and employee quarantine: Washington’s new Paid Family and Medical Leave law covers an employee’s
    absence from work due to a serious health condition.  Employees must still provide medical certification of the
    employee’s condition, but this can be obtained via email and the Employment Security Department will accept
    an electronic signature.  An employee’s time off from work due for purposes of quarantine is not covered by
    Washington PFML, but the employee may be eligible for unemployment insurance.
  • Paid Family Leave: Paid family leave is available to care for a family member with COVID-19 if a medical provider
    certifies that it qualifies as a serious health condition.
  • School closures: Employee absences due to school or day care closures are not covered under Washington PFML.
    Unemployment insurance may be available.
  • Work closures or reduced hours: If an employee is laid off work temporarily or if receives reduced hours due to
    a business slowdown or a lack of demand as a result of COVID-19, the employee may be able to receive
    unemployment benefits. If placed on “standby” status the employee does not have to look for another job while
    collecting unemployment benefits as long as certain conditions are met (including performing available telework).

Washington COVID-19 websites abound:

https://esd.wa.gov/newsroom/covid-19

https://paidleave.wa.gov/coronavirus/

easy-to-read comparison guide

https://esd.wa.gov/newsroom/covid-19#forms

 

Are we having fun yet?

Look, let’s get real for a moment. None of us have ever lived through something precisely like this moment in time. Scary? Sure. Complicated? You bet. Changing every sec- oh wait, there it goes again. Changing every second? Yup. Here’s the good news, because we all need some. We will get through this, together. From the Matrix-Radar team, you can be assured we will not take our eyes off the ball and continue to try and help make sense of every new rule and nuance (new-ance?). If you are a Matrix or Reliance Standard client with questions about your leave of absence and disability programs, your account manager will absolutely help – he or she is getting up to speed as we all are. Like you, we are social distancing, work-from-home-ing, loving our families and taking care of business like a boss. Stick with us and stay positive, we will come out stronger, together. 

Meanwhile, Back in New York  . . .  Increases in PFL Benefits, Durations, and Premiums

Posted on: September 5, 2018 0

BY MARTI CARDI, VP-PRODUCT COMPLIANCE 

Here we are, 8 months into the first year of paid family leave in the state of New York.  My attention, and that of many employers, has been diverted somewhat to the upcoming paid family and medical leave law enacted by the state of Washington, with premium collections beginning in January 2019. (For more information on Washington, you know where to go: www.matrix-radar.com, and search for anything about Washington.) 

But New York marches on, and we are closing in on changes to the NY PFL program that will go into effect January 1, 2019.  The statute itself has built-in annual increases in the employee benefits percentage and leave duration for the 3 years after implementation.  In addition, the Superintendent for the NY Department of Financial Services is to publish by September 1 of each year the rate for employee premiums for the policy period beginning on the following January 1. That information was released on August 31, 2018, and is available here.

Here’s how NY PFL premiums and benefits compare from 2018 to 2019:

Effective Duration State Annual Weekly Wage (AWW) Employee Premium* (capped at same % of state AWW) Maximum Employee Premium Employee Benefit (capped at same % of state AWW) Max Benefit per Week
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2018 8 weeks $1,306 0.126% of employee’s weekly wage $1.65 / week

 

$85.56 / year

50% of employee’s AWW $652.96
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2019 10 weeks $1,357.11 0.153%  of employee’s gross wages each pay period $2.08 / week

 

$107.97 / year

55% of employee’s AWW $746.41

*The state uses slightly different terminology to describe the employee’s payroll contributions in 2018 and 2019, but the result should be the same – take the premium out of the employee’s paycheck at the proper percentage of that pay period’s wages until the maximum annual employee premium has been met.

Carryover of leaves from 2018 to 2019

At this point, one pressing question on employers’ minds is how much leave and benefits are available if an employee’s leave starts in 2018 but carries over into 2019? Here are some FAQs from the NY PFL website update for 2019:

  • If I start my continuous leave in 2018, and it extends into 2019, am I eligible for the benefits at the
    2019 rate and an extra two weeks?

    You get the benefit rate and number of weeks in effect on the first day of your leave.

Managing an intermittent leave that carries over is – of course! – more complex:

  • If I start my intermittent leave in 2018, and it extends into 2019, am I eligible for the benefits at the
    2019 rate and an extra two weeks?

    You get the benefit rate and number of weeks in effect on the first day of a period of leave. When more than
    three months passes between days of Paid Family Leave, your next day or period of Paid Family Leave is
    considered a new claim under the law. This means you will need to file a new Request for Paid Family Leave
    and that you may be eligible for the increased benefits available should this day or period of Paid Family
    Leave begin in 2019.

Remember that, in all events, the amount of leave an employee can take is measured looking back 52 weeks from the date of most recent usage.  Here is an example of how to assess an employee’s leave rights in 2019 if the employee used all 8 weeks available in 2018:

  • I used all eight weeks of PFL in 2018. Can I take more PFL in 2019 if I experience another qualifying event?
    If you experience another qualifying event in 2019, you may be eligible for up to two weeks of additional leave.
    The maximum amount of leave in 2019 is 10 weeks in a 52 week period. If you took eight weeks of PFL in the last
    52 weeks, and have another qualifying event in 2019, you may be limited to two weeks at the new rate, since it is a
    rolling calendar. When it has been 52 weeks from your 2018 leave dates, you will accrue a new week of available PFL,
    up to another eight weeks.

MATRIX CAN HELP!

As state and federal programs proliferate, Matrix provides leave, disability, and accommodation management services to employers seeking a comprehensive and compliant solution to these complex employer obligations. We monitor the many leave laws being passed around the country and specialize in understanding how they work together.

If you have questions, contact your Account Manager or ping@matrixcos.com.

Just when you thought you might be getting the hang of New York Paid Family Leave…

Posted on: March 12, 2018 0

BY MARTI CARDI, VP-PRODUCT COMPLIANCE & GAIL COHEN, DIRECTOR-EMPLOYMENT LAW/COMPLIANCE

The New York state legislature introduced a bill proposing to expand the coverage of paid leave.  See NY S 7723.  As with so much of the NY PFL law and regulations, the proposed bill – if enacted as is – will add more complications and conflicts.  Here’s what is in the bill:

PROVISION

COMMENTS – IF PASSED
Adds as a covered leave reason, matters related to being victim of domestic or sexual violence:

Medical attention, attending counseling sessions, seeking legal assistance, attendance in court proceedings, communicating with an attorney, relocating to a permanent or temporary residence.

This leave will create a category under Paid Family Leave for which the employee can obtain paid leave for personal medical needs.  An employee’s own medical condition is otherwise excluded from PFL coverage due to the availability of disability leave insurance
Available only for employee as victim, not for a family member as a victim.  Almost all existing laws granting leaves for victims of domestic violence and similar crimes provide time off if either the employee or a specified family member is the victim.  The limitation to the employee only is unusual and we might expect to see an amendment in this regard.

 

Employee can use only 2 weeks of paid PFL (out of the 8, 10, or 12 weeks of total PFL entitlement) for the new leave reason, but can also use 2 additional weeks unpaid, and the unpaid weeks have the same PFL protections. The bill provides an employee with 2 additional weeks of leave for matters related to domestic violence (but unpaid).  For example, in 2018 an employee could take 6 paid weeks to care for a family member, 2 paid weeks for matters relating to being a victim of domestic violence, and 2 weeks unpaid for the same – a total of 10 job-protected weeks off, although for all other reasons NY PFL is limited to 8 weeks in 2018.
Benefits are paid at 67% of employee’s average weekly wage, not to exceed 67% of state average weekly wage.  This is an odd provision – why not just follow the same phase-in of PFL percentage benefits over the next 3 years?

 

As you can see, the proposed bill would create some administration challenges, such as tracking the 2-week limitation of PFL for domestic violence reasons and the 2 additional weeks of unpaid but job-protected leave.  As drafted the bill will also require employers to pay different benefit percentages for early years based on leave reason until the benefit percentage for all leave reasons reaches 67% in 2021.  This bill, if passed, will go into effect on the January 1 following passage – so likely January 1, 2019. We hope for some amendments before passage!

New York Makes Paid Family Leave “Notice to Employees” Available

Posted on: November 14, 2017 2

By Marti Cardi, VP-Product Compliance & Gail Cohen, Director-Employment Law/Compliance  

Section 380-7.2.e. of the New York Paid Family Leave law requires employers to post a notice to employees of their rights under the law:

Every covered employer must display or post, and keep posted, a typewritten or printed notice concerning PFL in a form prescribed by the Chair.  The notice must be displayed in plain view where all employees and/or applicants can readily see it.

The state has now issued form PFL-120 for employers to use for this purpose.  It can  be obtained by sending an email to certificates@wcb.ny.gov.

For more information about New York Paid Family Leave, check out our previous blog posts:  October 2017,  October 2017, August 2017, July 2017, May 2017, March 2017, and April 2016.